Monday, August 24, 2015

Blog Tour Reviews ~ The Frost Series by Liz DeJesus

First Frost
The Frost Series Book # 1
by Liz DeJesus
Publication Date- June 22nd, 2015
Published By - Indie Gypsy

Fairytales aren’t real…yeah…that’s exactly what Bianca thought. She was wrong.

For generations, the Frost family has run the Museum of Magical and Rare Artifacts, handing down guardianship from mother to daughter, always keeping their secrets to “family only.”

Gathered within museum’s walls is a collection dedicated to the Grimm fairy tales and to the rare items the family has acquired: Cinderella’s glass slipper, Snow White’s poisoned apple, the evil queen’s magic mirror, Sleeping Beauty’s enchanted spinning wheel…

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Frost wants none of it, dreaming instead of a career in art or photography or…well, anything except working in the family’s museum. She knows the items in the glass display cases are fakes because, of course, magic doesn’t really exist.

She’s about to find out how wrong she is.

Glass Frost
The Frost Series Book # 2
by Liz DeJesus
Publication Date- June 22nd, 2015

When joined together, Cinderella's slippers grant the wearer her heart's desire. But whose wish will be granted?

When Cinderella’s glass slipper is stolen, Queen Felicia sends her faithful steward Terrance to the real world to retrieve his love and witch-in-training, Bianca Frost. The power of the glass slipper, when paired with its mate, and in the wrong hands, could ruin the peace of Everafter. Bianca must gather every bit of magic she has learned in the past few weeks to find the slipper and protect her new love. Together, Bianca, Ming, Prince Ferdinand, and Terrance venture deep into the heart of Everafter to seek clues as to who has stolen the slipper and why. Along the way, they uncover what happened to the Seven Dwarves after Snow White married the prince, but also learn the awful risk of tampering with black magic and the high price that must be paid for magic, even when used for good.

Bianca and Terrance’s relationship is put to the test. Through the pain of suffering and loss, Bianca must determine if following her gallant boyfriend into his faraway world is in fact her heart's desire.

Shattered Frost
Frost Series # 3
by Liz DeJesus
Publication Date- August 15th, 2015

Bianca Frost and her BFF Ming Lee return to Everafter to attend the Winter Ball with their boyfriends, Terrance and Prince Ferdinand. They were looking forward to a short vacation, especially Bianca, who is being bullied at school. She is looking forward to the day when she can finally graduate from high school. But all is not cute hair and fancy shoes as a mysterious count sets his sights on Bianca at the ball. When Count Jonathan Bleu kidnaps Bianca and Ming, the pair must do everything in their power to escape his clutches. In this amazing adventure, Bianca and Ming find themselves traveling down a rabbit hole, where they have to survive the madness of Wonderland in order to make it back home to the men they love.

Bianca and Ming must travel to the Queen of Hearts’ labyrinth, find Bluebeard’s key and save Jack of Hearts before Bianca loses everything she holds dear.

5 – Fairytales with a Twist – Stars
~this review may contain minor spoilers~

You are playing a very dangerous game without knowing all the rules. You cannot keep coming back and forth as you have been doing since you discovered the path to Everafter. As long as the pathways to your world are open, anyone will find you. Anyone can walk through that portal and attack you and your family. Is your freedom worth that price?”

This series never gets old, always a new adventure, always completely engrossing – I just love it. But what's not to love?! It's modern characters mixed with fairytales. It's fairytale characters, and their next generation, in the here and now – just in another dimension, as real as you and me. Every book takes us into the life of another classic fairytale, with a whole lot of new twists along the way. This one dove into the legend of Bluebeard and takes us deep into Wonderland – which incidentally, happens to be one of my all time favorite fairytales. Did you ever wonder what happened to Alice after her fateful journey? What about the Cheshire Cat? Do you really know the White Rabbit? Bianca, along with best friend Ming, learn all about it and more with their trip down the rabbit hole. Bianca has grown so much since the first book – not only is she turning into a young woman, she is really coming into her own as a witch. The more trips she makes to Everafter, the more she realizes how at home she feels there – more so than she ever did back in her earthly realm. Her boyfriend Terrance really is what fairytales are made of – sweet and strong, protective and bashful, he is a true gentleman until his lady is in danger, then he easily unleashes his inner-beast to save the love of his life. Maggie was a hilarious addition to the group, nothing will ever be boring with her around – not that Bianca leads a boring existence, she has a knack for attracting trouble just by being who she is and I think it's safe to say that I don't see that changing anytime soon. That is just fine by me – I am very much looking forward to many more adventures with her. And Terrance. Ming and Prince Ferdinand. Maggie and Gherkin. And all the other inhabitants from Everafter we have yet to meet. No matter where this series takes us next, it's sure to be one helluva ride – I CANNOT WAIT.

I guess this is good-bye.”
“For now. I'll be back causing trouble in Everafter before you know it”
Hopefully not too much trouble. I can't bear the thought of you getting hurt again. My heart couldn't take it”

Liz DeJesus was born on the tiny island of Puerto Rico. She is a novelist and a poet. She has been writing for as long as she was capable of holding a pen. She is the author of the novel Nina (Blu Phi'er Publishing, October 2007), The Jackets (Arte Publico Press, March 2011) First Frost (Re-realeased through Indie Gypsy Summer 2015), Glass Frost (Re-released through Indie Gypsy Summer 2015), Shattered Frost (Indie Gypsy, Summer 2015) and Morgan (Indie Gypsy, July 2014). Her work has also appeared in Night Gypsy: Journey Into Darkness (Indie Gypsy, October 2012), Twice Upon a Time (Bearded Scribe Press, Winter 2015) and Someone Wicked (Smart Rhino Publications, Winter 2013).
Liz is currently working on a new novel and a comic book series titled Zombie Ever After (Emerald Star Comics, Fall 2014).

Facebook twitter Goodreads Pinterest